PDA

View Full Version : Firefox 3 Reports forums.ffshrine.org as an "Attack Site!"



CyberSpark
08-02-2008, 11:59 AM
http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/3492/20080802131350kd9.png


I Visit this site on a regular basis and haven't had much any problems with it, but Firefox 3 and Google still give out this message. Sarah, I don't know if you've received this report before, you probably have, but I think it's an important fix. I've sent out a few invitations to some people and even a composer or two but I doubt that they will feel inclined to visit this site with a huge warning in their face.


Here's a bit more info:
http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/115/20080802130926he5.th.png (http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=20080802130926he5.png)


By the way, I hadn't noticed this a first because apparently if you open this site via Bookmark there's no warning; try doing a Google search instead.

Sarah
08-02-2008, 12:18 PM
yep, I noticed it. we're working on it.

CyberSpark
08-02-2008, 12:22 PM
Tanks for da update. :)

If anyone asks me I'll tell them that there's no need to be concerned, it's just a minor glitch.

Btw, I'm sure a lot of regular forum visitors had noticed this but I didn't see a thread about, therefore....

Link006
08-02-2008, 01:05 PM
I was blindsided by this as well. Hopefully it will get cleared up.

byblo
08-02-2008, 04:09 PM
It is the second time since I'm using FF3 that I have those warning messages for ffshrine. The google detail make me laugh :
http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/115/20080802130926he5.th.png (http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=20080802130926he5.png)
The worse is that the warning appear each time, flooding the user surfing. Mozilla should really do something about that weak function.

JudgeIto
08-03-2008, 01:47 AM
I'm sure the forums are fine.

The report for the forums doesn't list any attacks or harmful content, whereas the report for gh.ffshrine.org list reports of other websites (third-parties) inserting code. The advisory must assume that since both forums. and gh. are subdomains of ffshrine.org, both must compromised.

Long story short: don't visit a soundtrack page hosted on the gh. subdomain.

RikkuYunaRinoa
08-03-2008, 05:08 AM
It is because if you post on here i find out where you live and then track you down and rape you.

Goren
08-03-2008, 06:23 AM
"Please, have a seat."

Agent0042
08-03-2008, 04:21 PM
It's <a href="http://forums.ffshrine.org/showthread.php?t=54032">this problem</a> from before, 'cept now with the added Firefox dimension because Firefox ties in with Google to determine that.

Fallen_Reality
08-03-2008, 07:54 PM
You can turn it off in the options in firefox. It's under security. Not a good solution, but for people who use the forums often, it helps.

Agent0042
08-03-2008, 08:39 PM
Exactly-- that's what I'm doing. It's pretty much a must if you're using Firefox 3.0 and you're going to browse around the boards at all, because otherwise it displays that warning every single time.

Oh, and what the original poster said didn't hold true in my experience-- I access the forums by bookmark and it still gives me the message unless I turn the option off.

Cray-Z
08-04-2008, 07:43 AM
I'm having to surf this site from Internet Explorer to avoid bumping into this problem.

RikkuYunaRinoa
08-04-2008, 09:33 AM
I noticed that it does not stop me accessing the forum if you use the alternate address. For example.

http://67.19.221.50/~forums/showthread.php?p=1123590#post1123590

Arron
08-04-2008, 10:27 AM
Ive had it with internet explorer, just says "Your computer is at risk,do you wish to proceed to sshrine.gh.org anyway? or something like that... bit late of me to mention, but hey ho!

Daikun
08-04-2008, 08:13 PM
Here's how to fix the problem:

Go to Tools -> Options -> Privacy tab.

Uncheck the box that says "Tell me if the site I'm visiting is a suspected attack site."

Message gone.

Lgacy2X
08-04-2008, 08:21 PM
I have the same problem and fortunately I already took the necessary step. Thanks Daikun.

Arigeitsu
08-04-2008, 09:12 PM
Hopefully FFShrine can fix the problem though. I'd like to keep the feature enabled just in case I do go to a site that is an "Attack Site".

Agent0042
08-04-2008, 09:27 PM
Well, you can always just turn it off for the time you're browsing around FFShrine and then click it back on once you're done. Personally, I'm not too chuffed about it myself because I pretty much always visit a core group of sites and so the odds that I'd be visiting anything that was truly an attack site is pretty minimal.

Fern
08-04-2008, 09:49 PM
Yeah, I'm getting this too....

But, I had to fix it another way....

g10102
08-05-2008, 04:07 AM
Sigh, I did just what you guys said. But i really hope that these forums would solve this problem

Redbat
08-05-2008, 04:42 AM
I just open up good ol' internet explorer for ffshrine.
I'd like to get back to using firefox though for the site. ;_;

Theta Sigma
08-05-2008, 05:31 AM
why the hell does no one use maxthon or flock as their browser. theyre so much better.

poptart fantastico
08-05-2008, 10:59 AM
Because we've never heard of them, Theta.

fatcerberus1
08-05-2008, 11:35 AM
I think I figured out why the site was marked malicious in the first place. I tried to go to ffshrine.org in Internet Explorer earlier and, while IE didn't stop me from visiting the site, I received a "multiple threats detected" warning from AVG (AVG 8 with latest definitions for what it's worth) once the page started loading. I'm wondering if it's the ads that are causing the problems...

poptart fantastico
08-05-2008, 11:55 AM
Could be...

Cray-Z
08-05-2008, 12:51 PM
Here's how to fix the problem:

Go to Tools -> Options -> Privacy tab.

Uncheck the box that says "Tell me if the site I'm visiting is a suspected attack site."

Message gone.

As would any other instance.

I'd like to be warned if something presents a legitimate threat. I just know that Galbadia Hotel is a safe site from my own experience and I'd like it to let me declare an exception. The warnings themselves are welcomed because they are helpful in identifying bad sites.

drakerafe
08-05-2008, 06:07 PM
why the hell does no one use maxthon or flock as their browser. theyre so much better.

MAXTHON = Maximized of tons hang on system

drakerafe
08-05-2008, 06:48 PM
WARNING

1. Never turn off "Tell me if the site I'm visiting is a suspected attack site"
2. Except the website you trust (there is no option in firefox)

Why ...
in Windows OS, Fire fox can automatically install ActiveX while IExplore notice (prompt) it (like the same case in Firefox is installing addons),

if you're installing it your computer was under hacker control, only fireWall can handle it! You can't just see it in "task manager" (Press :Ctrl+Alt+Del) if there is some suspicious program runs. There are several program which not exists in list but exists in your memory... i can built it...

CAREFULLY about mime types :
Applications/force-download

For experienced users:

If you have download manager "DON't Remove automatically completed downloads"
right click -> view Source. Examine the code ...
Don't forget to LOOK these JavaScript
View your temporary internet files, search for suspicious page / file extensions (some virus "fileExtensionNotAlways.eXe" virus canbe "index.html")
View The Cookies.
Never test on server machine (because too fast for loading)


For unexperienced users:
Just buy & purchase Antivirus, and fireWall


note:
Only in windows OS fireWall may result connection slow (LAG) while others not (Linux, Mac, Irix) (I had never use Unix)
Still Lagged? smash your pc!





Sorry, I never examine "ffshrine.org" because i'm not their worker =) ...
<font color="#1e2738">you'll be sorry to read this real bad english (I'm always got D grade in English @ school)
</font>
O:]

Cray-Z
08-06-2008, 05:24 AM
why the hell does no one use maxthon or flock as their browser. theyre so much better.

Extensions my friend...sweet, sweet extensions.

xion_one
08-06-2008, 12:31 PM
Maxthon = bootleg IE. Flock = bootleg Firefox.

If anything, Opera is the way to go.

drakerafe
08-06-2008, 02:04 PM
You're <b>right</b>
+ safari browser (but prepare more memory before use this)

Seele
08-06-2008, 11:04 PM
We can be quite aggressive!

As far as browsers go... FIREFOX 3 + MAC = WIN WIN WIN

Gentleman Ghost
08-06-2008, 11:45 PM
I use IE and its sucks whenever an administration board appears.

metayoshi
08-07-2008, 12:22 AM
Maxthon = bootleg IE. Flock = bootleg Firefox.

If anything, Opera is the way to go.

I actually hated Opera for a while... Then 9.5 came out and it became the best browser to date. I happen to use both Firefox and Opera interchangeably, Firefox because of extensions, and Opera when I need to download a huge file, or if I just need to get to a web page fast.

fatcerberus1
08-08-2008, 09:55 AM
No comment on the AVG virus warnings when loading the page in IE? This proves that ffshrine isn't as benign as most would seem to think (I still think it's because of the ads and not the site itself, though--I wouldn't even be posting here if I thought the site was malicious). Of course loading the page in Firefox doesn't cause AVG to have a seizure, so that's what I've been doing.

mintfresh
08-08-2008, 06:38 PM
Yeah I noticed this, figured it was just some temporary thing. I always get here via bookmarks and have no problems, but I wanted to dl something from the galbadia hotel, and every page it was popping up warnings, so I turned it off until I'd finished. True story.

jewess crabcake
08-08-2008, 06:42 PM
FFS Forum (http://67.19.221.50/~forums/)

Not sure if you guys are unaware, but use this to bypass the warning.

Arigeitsu
08-09-2008, 03:47 PM
Seems Firefox 3 has stopped reporting this is an "Attack Site" for me now.

chiops
08-10-2008, 09:16 PM
Seems Firefox 3 has stopped reporting this is an "Attack Site" for me now.

Just noticed this.

FFS is righteous again. Praise the Lord!

CyberSpark
08-10-2008, 09:21 PM
Yup, just tested out the various links through Google and all seems to be working fine again. I hope now the links I sent out will no longer be alarming to anyone.

SilverBlade
08-10-2008, 10:11 PM
Yup, just tested out the various links through Google and all seems to be working fine again. I hope now the links I sent out will no longer be alarming to anyone.

The 'Attack Site' alert popped up for me again. It was fine for about 2 days.

chiops
08-11-2008, 01:03 AM
The 'Attack Site' alert popped up for me again. It was fine for about 2 days.

Yup. :itsamystery:

poptart fantastico
08-11-2008, 06:46 AM
It was fine last night on my laptop but popped up again on the laptop today.

byblo
08-11-2008, 06:55 AM
I don't get why the FF dev's did not implemented at least a white list for cases like this... Its all or nothing with they...

Arigeitsu
08-11-2008, 10:36 PM
The 'Attack Site' alert popped up for me again. It was fine for about 2 days.

Ditto.

fighterspledge
08-14-2008, 10:09 AM
Dangit, I'm only 50 hits away from 1000 hits and it's scaring away my referrals! I guess that there is nothing I can do about this from my level is there?