PDA

View Full Version : VII and VIII for PC



Cerdic of Wessex
06-28-2007, 02:04 PM
Are VII and VIII for PC compatible with XP and Vista? Also, what is in the Platinum Edition of VII for PC?

TM
06-28-2007, 02:54 PM
Yes, I have played VII and VIII on XP, but I am not sure about Vista.


EDIT: Also, I would not recommend it, as it is very unreliable at least when I try to play it, crashes and glitches are very common for me.

jewess crabcake
06-28-2007, 02:55 PM
yes, and IDK about vista, if its over windows 2000, it's compatible, just get patches for your GPU(video card).

IDX
06-28-2007, 05:03 PM
I got FFVIII through a torrent and it came with the patches. Whenever I tried to install them, it said that I already have them installed :/. But anyways, it works like a charm and I use XP.

Argus Zephyrus
06-28-2007, 07:58 PM
I use XP and FFVIII works perfectly with the patch I obtained. I still haven't gotten FFVII to work properly. If all else fails, download the PS1 ROMs and play them on ePSXe or something. It definitely should work well then, though you may need a computer with a good amount of RAM and a video card that isn't too far behind. I use a 128-Mb GeForce FX 5200 card (not too recent anymore) and 512 RAM, so PS1 emulation is frickin' sw33t and never slow.

jewess crabcake
06-28-2007, 08:49 PM
the PSX specs are faaaar less than what you've named and therefore makes it excessive.

Big McLargeHuge
07-05-2007, 02:40 PM
I can barely get my FFVII Platinum to work right on XP, unless I have the special patch installed too. Dig around the Internet for it; you'll find it pretty easily. I imagine there's a Vista patch either out, or on the way.

It always crashes when I try to enter a Chocobo race, but the patch fixes it so it works perfectly. Also, since it relies on Numpad for the default controls, it's impossible to play on a laptop unless you plug in a second keyboard and change the controls from there.

All I know about Platinum is that they changed Ungermax to Angermax. I think there's one other tiny change, something with putting the enemy Green Dragon in an additional location.

Jackks
07-07-2007, 01:03 PM
It's not impossible to play FFVII on a laptop. Just hold down function to use the num pad untill you can access the game's menu and alter what keys do what.

As for getting FFVII to wrok with XP, as long as you get the right patches (The Chocobo patch, The official Version 1.02 patch and the mini games patch) you should have no problem.

I succesfully got FFVII working on my laptop and played all the way through ;)

But Vista? No idea - you're just gonna have to experiment!

Argus Zephyrus
07-09-2007, 05:57 PM
the PSX specs are faaaar less than what you've named and therefore makes it excessive.
True, and it still lags on a number of games. =\ I use a resolution of 800x600 or 1024x768 when emulating PSX games.

jewess crabcake
07-09-2007, 05:59 PM
I prefer it windowed so if it crashes, your pc doesn't suffer trying to execute.

dazrocket
08-02-2007, 08:22 AM
where could i get final fantasy VII from for pc ???

IDX
08-02-2007, 08:29 AM
Ebay or torrents. You pick.

imshort
08-16-2007, 07:58 PM
Does the PC version of FFVII work on the Mac OS X?

jewess crabcake
08-16-2007, 08:09 PM
not to my knowledge, I believe it's an .exe format,